Building Better Healthcare Awards

The 2018 BBH Awards is open for entries

Published: 27-Feb-2018

The awards celebrates its 20th edition alongside the NHS's 70th anniversary

The competition, which celebrates its 20th anniversary this year, will continue to recognise and reward innovation in the healthcare built environment and medical device and technology sectors, and will throw the spotlight on those people leading the way in enhancing services across the sector.

As well as being the 20th year of the awards; this year is also the NHS’s 70th birthday and we expect entries to include some of the most-ground-breaking NHS schemes from across the country.

Over the coming months the judges will look at all the entries, before the winners are announced at a prestigious event at The Brewery in central London on 31 October.

And this year there are more chances than ever to win, with 27 awards up for grabs across five classes – Building Design, Technology, Estates and Facilities, Staff and Patient Experience, and Special Awards.

The 2018 BBH Awards is open for entries

The categories have been carefully chosen to reflect activity and priorities in the current market place.

In particular, the Building Design awards reflect the recent shift from the large-scale hospital developments of the past decade, to less-costly refurbishment and expansion of existing hospital buildings.

So, for the first time this year, there are awards for both New Build and Refurbishment projects within the Award for Best Primary Care Development – recognising the recent investment in enhancing primary care facilities to take pressure off struggling hospital services.

There are also two awards for Best Acute Hospital Design – for projects under and over the value of £10m.

The 2018 BBH Awards is open for entries
The 2018 BBH Awards is open for entries

All other awards in this class will recognise both new-build and refurbishment projects of all sizes, with the judges reserving the right to choose more than one winner in the event that several entries are deemed to have a significantly-positive impact.

The categories also reflect the increasing investment in social care facilities such as nursing and care homes and dementia care schemes, with entries sought from both NHS and private providers for Best Mental Health Development; Best Dementia Development; and Best Social Care Development.

Finally, there is the Best International Development, which will single out the very best in health and care projects from around the world.

In all these categories the judges are looking for details of how the buildings were designed to specifically meet the needs of the people who will be using them – patients, staff and visitors.

Entries should, therefore, include feedback from users, floorplans to show the adjacencies, and a description, from the architect, about how the plans were put together.

In the Patient Environment class, the awards will recognise how the built environment can positively enhance a person’s time in hospital, whether that is a member of staff, a patient, or a visitor.

The categories take note of the increasing use of the arts and interior design to enhance spaces, with awards for both Best Collaborative Arts Project (static), covering art installations such as painting and sculptures; and Best Collaborative Arts Project (performance), which will include music, dance and other participatory events.

In both categories the judges will want to hear about the involvement of staff and patients and how the investment is impacting on the environment.

The 2018 BBH Awards is open for entries

The awards for Best Internal Environment and Best External Environment continue this theme, exploring how interior design and exterior improvements, such as landscaping and walkways, can make a person’s experience of the clinical environment less daunting.

And this year there is also a Best Furniture and Fixtures Award, which will highlight the impact that manufacturers are making on improving the environment and addressing key issues such as infection control and health and safety. This category will cover everything from furniture including seating, tables, office furniture, beds and storage solutions; to fixtures like door handles, window restrictors, anti-ligature products, and curtain rails and grab rails.

The Technology Class has been expanded once again this year to reflect the continued shift away from paper systems to digital solutions.

There are now five awards up for grabs. They are Best Communications Product, covering entries such as nurse call systems, graphics, wayfinding solutions, and telecommunications; Best Administrative System, covering all back-office or data collection systems that are helping to improve care; and two awards for Best Healthcare Software – the first for a patient-centred solution, and the second targeting healthcare staff.

Finally in this category is a new award for Best Use of Technology.

While the other awards will focus on specific solutions; this award will recognise deployments; highlighting how solutions, or a number of applications, have been seamlessly rolled out, leading to a measurable improvement in services.

In the Estates and Facilities Management class we will once again be recognising the people behind the successes. There are awards for Facilities Management Team of the Year and Estates Team of the Year, with the judges looking for best practice across both hard and soft FM services and the estates division.

Specifically this year, the awards will recognise, in particular, the input of estates and facilities on overall service efficiencies.

There are two awards for Best Example of Efficiencies – one covering operational efficiencies; rewarding entries including carbon reduction projects and estates rationalisation schemes, among others; and a second focusing on technology, and how digital solutions – nurse call systems, IT solutions and building management technologies – are impacting on service delivery.

Finally are this year’s Special Awards. These are the Grand Prix Award for the Building Design entry the judges feel is the most outstanding overall.

Then there are the Patient’s Choice and Clinician’s Choice awards, which are chosen by our expert judges from across all entries in all categories.

To find out more about entries this year’s competition, sponsoring the event, or attending the ceremony, visit the BBH Awards website, call 020 7193 8083 or email

The 2018 BBH Awards is open for entries


You may also like